Survival

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m finding each subsequent year of parenthood harder and harder.  When we had the twins, everyone comments about how “you’ve got your hands full.”  But the fruit babies are easy compared to a 6-year-old boy.  The challenges seem endless.

But then there are moments, now and then, where I am struck by what a crazy time it must be for him too.  We had “back to school” night this week.  The Snake’s new teacher, an enthusiastic new graduate, gave us a Parent’s School Year Survival Kit.  Those that know me know that I’m not exactly the weepy sort.  But that night, after things were quiet, I read this list.  And I was teary.  I think I will post it in my kitchen to try and remind myself of how much help 6-year-olds still need.

I give you a rubber band to remind you of hugging your child when he gets home (It’s hard being away from your family for the day).

I give you a tissue to remind you to dry your child’s tears (Children can get frustrated with themselves).

I give you a toothpick to remind you to “pick out” the good qualities of your child (Everyone is good at something!).

I give you an eraser to remind you that your child will make mistakes and that’s alright (Some of our best learning comes from mistakes we have made in the past).

I give you a band-aid to remind you of healing your child’s hurt feelings (Children can sometimes say mean words to each other).

I give you a sweet treat to remind you that everyone needs a treat occasionally (Reward your child for what he can do!)

I give you a sticker to remind you that we all need to stick together (Home and school).

I give you a tub of play-doh to remind you that if we work together we can help sculpt a young child’s mind into a beautiful piece of work!

I give you an apple because there is more than one teacher in your child’s life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Survival

  1. magpie says:

    That is incredibly sweet.

  2. caro says:

    That’s very sweet.

  3. Kate says:

    Yep. That would have made me cry.

  4. Emily says:

    that is awesome

Leave a Reply

