Starting Over

Last year I stumbled across a new approach to new year’s resolutions.  Rather than make a list of changes, I chose a word for the year to encompass the coming months.  I thought it was a wonderful idea, and it definitely impacted the way I view the beginning of that year.  Today I discovered there is a whole new endeavor spread over the month of December — Reverb 10, an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next

December 1One Word.
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

Rooting. The last few years involved a lot of transplanting.  This past year I spent growing new roots.  This town is to be our forever home, and it seems our family is complete.  It has been a time for settling down and looking more carefully at the future.  It has also been a time for deeper growth, a reassessment of what soil I will grow best in, what light will help me flower.

Gardening. I wish I could say the next year would be captured by the word “blossoming.”  But I imagine the next year will involve a lot of work.  While this plot seems full of sunshine and plentiful rain, the soil is still rocky and full of clay.  This garden still requires the early back-breaking work that creates a beautiful flower bed.  The soil needs amending and there are many weeds to be pulled.  I have tasks ahead, and they will certainly be trying, but there is so much promise.

I find it a bit ironic to find myself doing this prompt tonight after what I wrote earlier today.   My word for this year was acceptance.  It seems I had forgotten.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Starting Over

  1. I love the interaction between rooting and gardening. It sounds like a perfect transition.

  2. Kathy says:

    Beautiful post. I love the words you chose and how you defined them in regards to your life in the past year and where you see yourself in the year to come. What an interesting and thought-provoking idea. Thank you for sharing and best wishes to you and your family in the year to come! 🙂

Leave a Reply

