In the Garden

This month I’m featuring posts as a part of #reverb10, an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next.

December 3 – Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors). (Author: Ali Edwards)

I can’t pick one single moment, I can’t.  There were some awful days that I felt intensely, but those are not days I’d like to relive.  There were a handful of moments I can cherish though.  Stolen ones.

I have a thing for gardens.  I grew up near a rather famous set of gardens, and visiting was simple.  They were elaborate and amazing.  When I lived in upstate New York, a Frederick Law Olmsted greenhouse was under renovation.  It was thrilling to watch the repairs and see it return to what was clearly its former glory.  So I was relieved to learn that our new little college town had an arboretum, with plans for expansion of the formal gardens.

I’ve escaped there several times in the last year.  Winter, spring, summer and fall.  The grounds are easily walked in 20 minutes or so, but there are many opportunities for photographs.  I’ve gone there to be free of children, obligations, all ties.  It is a fairly secluded spot on a busy campus, and it is a relief to not be known — no one sees a wife, a mother, a daughter.  On a good day, I might even look like a student (ok, a graduate student, can’t hide all those wrinkles).

When I’m there, I feel the sun penetrating my skin, deep into my bones, even on a cold day.  I feel the breeze, and sometimes even a strong wind, lift my short hair.  I feel the firm stone path under my feet, and the soft mulch too when I sneak into the beds for a better shot.  It is like my personal secret garden.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In the Garden

  1. traceyclark says:

    i can totally relate to this! these are the things I love as well. and that photo is beautiful! so glad you’re reverbing! : )

  2. magpie says:

    Love this. Do you garden at your house, too?

  3. lifeineden says:

    yes, although it is usually with kids underfoot, or dumping compost on top of the roses, or with a dog running off. visiting is much more relaxing. but I am excited to see how my new house has changed with the things we did this summer. xo

Leave a Reply

