Distractions

This month I’m featuring posts as a part of #reverb10, an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next.

December 2Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?
(Author: Leo Babauta)

It would be easy to blame the kids, the house, the errands — but it wouldn’t be true.  The real culprit is YOU, evil internet.  My distractions are blogs and flickr and so much ephemera floating on my screen.  Checking, and rechecking on my sites, my friends and such eats up a chunk of my day that could certainly be better spent.  But I suspect even more than the internet, the real problem is my lack of focus.  Since squabbling toddlers, ringing dryers and a sink full of dishes only provides little snippets of free time, I often resort to just jumping around.  That damn type-A streak tells me that it is foolish to attempt any writing or serious task since I’m bound to be interrupted.  Which means, often, those tasks simply remain undone.  And along with them, my sense of accomplishment.

I can eliminate it.  With extreme commitment.  But even greater is the need to let go of that perfectionism.  I should write, shoot or edit photos whenever I can.  It need not be excellent the first go-around, or even completed.  I should know this, after all I was an editor in a previous life.  The first step is to get the words on the page.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Distractions

  1. Corinne says:

    Amen to all that…. I hear you.
    Be kind to yourself!

  2. karen says:

    Isn’t it funny how we, who identify as writers, find so many ways in which to not write? (And isn’t that just one of the worst grammatical collections of words EVER!) I could have written this post, in many I also did. We who write need to keep using our voices, our lenses, need to keep seeing and speaking – not judging.

  3. msplanner says:

    Oh, I SO know what you mean! I often put off something because I don’t have time to do it perfectly, according to my own (high) expectations. We both need to start winging it more often 🙂

Leave a Reply

