Life is richer with friends

This month I’m featuring posts as a part of #reverb10, an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next.

December 7 – Community Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris)

This year I’ve discovered community in my new community … I mean my new town.  The nucleus is definitely centered around my neighbors, as there are many children my son’s age and we see one another frequently.  After living here a year, we’ve gotten to know each other pretty well and formed friendships, and most importantly become resources for one another.  Living in a college town means many people have moved here away from extended family, so neighbors try to provide some of that support to one another.  But I would like to see my local friendships grow, a circle of friends that are based on my own interests — those outside of motherhood.

In my online life, I’d say I really discovered a new community within FlickrSome of these women (mostly) I had known from blogging, but many were new to me.  I’ve found a lovely, creative, supportive group who do so much to foster one another’s self-esteem.  The overlap in my online groups astounds me.  When I first started blogging I was deep in the ALI (adoption, loss, infertility) community, but through them I found Kate, which led me to Shutter Sisters and a vast array of creative women.  I look forward to continuing to learn from this amazing women, and participating more fully in discussions of art, self and contributing to our world.

PS — I was sharing a bit about our Hanukkah celebrations over at The Creative Mama today.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

