Catching up (as always)

This month I’m featuring posts as a part of #reverb10, an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next.  I’m catching up on several prompts.

December 23 – New Name. Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why?  (Author: Becca Wilcott)

I often wished for a new name (4th grade had 5 Amys).  Now there are lots of names I love, but I’m not sure I can pick one that I think would fit me.  I do however liked to be called by my full name, Amy Lynn.  I think maybe if I needed a new name, that is what I would pick, Lynn.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

December 24 Prompt – Everything’s OK. What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead?  (Author: Kate Inglis)

Lately it seems to be the little moments.  Watching the kids conquer some task with ease.  Seeing them becoming their own person.  Seeing them gain confidence.  Even on the days where I think I’m going crazy with the fighting and the chaos, it’s those little moments that remind me — they will grow up and come out okay.  We all will.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

December 25 – Photo – a present to yourself.  Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words. Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you.  (Author: Tracey Clark)

I took this shot, using my tripod and my remote.  It was the first self-portrait I took for a group called BAM on Flickr.  BAM is about self-confidence, loving yourself (no matter how you look), celebrating what makes you YOU.  I was so excited to embrace this project — a self-portrait a week for one year.  I started it wearing these jeans that I had bought after my first child was born … and then never wore for 7 years.  I carried them through 2 cross-country moves, knowing it would be awhile (maybe never) until I fit into them.  But there was something about them that had called out to me in the thrift store.  Maybe it was imagining who the young girl had been who worked so hard on the embroidery.  Maybe it was the bohemian girl I wished I was.  Maybe it was the funky mama I dreamed of being.  But I kept them.  And this summer, I got them on.  Maybe next summer I’ll learn to wear them with abandon.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

December 26 – Soul Food.  What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth & touched your soul?  (Author: Elise Marie Collins)

Sadly, I can think of no amazing gourmet meal that sang to my soul.  But boy were there a lot of mornings where I really, really loved that first morning cup of coffee.

Join me Monday over at The Creative Mama for some reflections on holiday traditions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Catching up (as always)

  1. Lee says:

    I can totally relate to that first cup of coffee 🙂 GREAT self portrait! I’m thinking of including myself in my life this year. Who knows what craziness might happen. I might even buy myself some funky jeans!

  2. magpie says:

    Hi Amy Lynn! Love those jeans. I had things like that when I was, oh, younger. Ones I made, as one did.

  3. I have some to love self portraits and yours is great!

  4. Sorry, *come* to love self portraits.

Leave a Reply

