It’s the Little Things

This month I’m featuring posts as a part of #reverb10, an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next.

December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year? (Author: Jeffrey Davis)

I can’t claim credit for cultivating a sense of wonder in my life this last year, but I do know that a little door opened that gave me the chance to see it in my life.

After several years of fertility treatment, we were thrilled to welcome our twins.  With their arrival I came to accept that our family was likely complete.  We would not pursue treatment again, and it seemed unlikely I would conceive without it.  And then, surprisingly, I found myself pregnant last January.  After a brief period of excitement (and trepidation), it all ended when I miscarried.  It was a difficult time, bringing back so many emotions from previous years.

Reaching closure was bittersweet.  Watching the twins now meant these really were the last babies I would raise.  Yet it did allow me to look, with eyes wide open, and see wonder in all their little accomplishments and milestones.  The chaos of our life means I can’t tell you their exact age when they walked, or their very first word.  But I do know that now, when I watch them scribble a circle for the first time, it touches my heart in an entirely new way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s the Little Things

  1. Pingback: It Was Time | Life in Eden

Leave a Reply

