It’s the Little Things

This month I’m featuring posts as a part of #reverb10, an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next.

December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year? (Author: Jeffrey Davis)

I can’t claim credit for cultivating a sense of wonder in my life this last year, but I do know that a little door opened that gave me the chance to see it in my life.

After several years of fertility treatment, we were thrilled to welcome our twins.  With their arrival I came to accept that our family was likely complete.  We would not pursue treatment again, and it seemed unlikely I would conceive without it.  And then, surprisingly, I found myself pregnant last January.  After a brief period of excitement (and trepidation), it all ended when I miscarried.  It was a difficult time, bringing back so many emotions from previous years.

Reaching closure was bittersweet.  Watching the twins now meant these really were the last babies I would raise.  Yet it did allow me to look, with eyes wide open, and see wonder in all their little accomplishments and milestones.  The chaos of our life means I can’t tell you their exact age when they walked, or their very first word.  But I do know that now, when I watch them scribble a circle for the first time, it touches my heart in an entirely new way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to It’s the Little Things

  1. Pingback: It Was Time | Life in Eden

Leave a comment